Skip to content

Draft Concept Plan…ready for review

September 12, 2014

Below is  the Draft Salmonberry Corridor Concept Plan.

Comments on the draft plan will be taken via this site, email, at one of the public (3) meetings or in writing.  Comments can be directed to:  rocky.houston@oregon.gov.  Comments will be accepted through October 10, 2014.

Note:  File is 44 mbs.

Salmonberry Corridor DRAFT Concept Plan_9_11_14-1

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    September 16, 2014 10:40 am

    Amazing future trail! To have an opportunity such as this is something not to be wasted, can’t wait to ride this connection to the coast! Thanks for all the hard work getting us to this place.

  2. Jeff ong permalink
    September 16, 2014 1:20 pm

    I am really, really excited about this. I’m a Portland homeowner in my 40s who hasn’t owned a car for 10 years. I’ve ridden out to the coast a couple of times before, but the traffic is a little sketchy even for a fairly seasoned cyclist like me. I’d use this at least a couple of times a year, and spend a lot of money in the communities it runs through. I think it would really help me convinced less hardy cyclists to come along for the ride, too.

  3. Lori permalink
    September 17, 2014 12:00 am

    I have ridden the Katy Trail in Missouri – it is a destination linear park rail to trail. Its a popular trail, and definitely a tourist attraction. I toured the 250 trail over 5 days with a pannier and a credit card. We stayed at a bunch of BnBs and ate all of meals from the towns and spots along the trail. Point is that this trail can bring even more tourism to help small local economies along the way. I’d love to see this happen.

  4. WillB permalink
    September 17, 2014 2:04 am

    That is amazing!!! A connecting trail to the coast? Yes times inifinity!

  5. austin permalink
    September 17, 2014 4:02 am

    Seriously, this is such a fantastic idea. Riding my bike to the coast without fear of being side-swiped by car/truck/semi would be such a great experience!

  6. joan sears permalink
    September 17, 2014 5:08 am

    Yes, please, please, please!

  7. September 17, 2014 3:23 pm

    I have been cycling since I was a kid over 60 years ago. Just after my college days, I lead bike tours for the Sierra Club around Austin Texas and commuted to work by bicycle. I still enjoy riding the local trails around Portland. My favorite vacations are to go on organized bike tours in other countries. I would take full advantage of a trail connecting the Banks-Vernonia trail to the coast. This would provide a safe way from me to cycle from my Portland home to my Beach house while enjoying the sights and smells of nature instead of the noise and orders of highway traffic. My great hope is I will physically be able to make this trip if/when this trail is completed.

  8. Ian permalink
    September 19, 2014 1:28 am

    I can already see myself riding this trail, so excited! I just hope it keeps making such swift progress to be opened up as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

